On My Tech Radar

On My Tech Radar

by RJ Jacquez

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Motorola Xoom vs. iPad 2 vs. other Tablets: Specs

March 3, 2011

Yesterday Apple announced the iPad 2. I bought the first iPad the day it came out and use it every day, so naturally I was interested in learning what was new in the next version. In general I wasn’t blown away by the new features, faster, thinner, lighter. In fact having used the first iPad since day one, I’ve never found it to be slow or heavy or thick in any way. I have found the overall experience to be great.

However, what I did find impressive is the new iLife apps demonstrated during the event namely, GarageBand and iMovie, particularly because it shows the beginning of what will be possible with Tablets beyond just consuming content. As more Tablets beging to go primetime, I’m very excited about the new Tablet era we are entering.

I work in eLearning at Adobe, and much of my interest in Tablets is from the perspective of Mobile Learning and whatever your preferred Tablet is, this new revolution is a great thing for all of us developing and consuming eLearning. I also own the new Motorola Xoom and have plans to post short reviews in the coming days. In the meantime, I found this comparison table between the most talked-about Tablets on Engadget to be very useful:
Courtesy of Engadget.com

What’s your take on Tablets in general?

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

