On My Tech Radar

On My Tech Radar

by RJ Jacquez

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Finally able to take screenshots on Motorola Xoom and Droid 2

March 13, 2011

I’m still very new to the world of Android but I continue to be very impressed with my findings having come from an iPhone and later an iPad. Having said that, the one thing that puzzles me is the inability to take screenshots on my Droid 2 and Motorola Xoom out of the box.

I read somewhere that this is coming soon in a future Android update. However, until then there is a workaround through the Android SDK and without Rooting your devices. I have been playing with these steps for a couple of days with no luck, until this morning when I discovered that I also needed to download USB drivers from the MOTODEV site.

In case you are interested, here are the sites that helped me get this to work:

Best of luck and here’s my very first screen shot from my Motorola Xoom:

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

